Savoy Cafe and Deli

13 Oct

I don’t know why it took me so long to make it to Savoy Cafe and Deli, but I am so happy I finally did. You know when you find one of those places where there are so many gluten-free items available and you can’t pick just one? That was me this morning. Above is the GF banana nut bread that I started my breakfast with. It was as good as it looks. Then, I had a hard time deciding between gluten-free french toast or pancakes. I ended up picking the french toast.

With strawberries, blackberries, blueberries and powdered sugar, this dish was unbelievable. It was also a very large portion. But I didn’t stop there. There were GF cookies in the display case. I ended up taking a chocolate chip cookie and snickerdoodle cookie to go…. you know… for the blog. I wouldn’t want to skimp on showing you how fantastic these looked.

While there, I noticed that there were sandwiches offered for lunch. Since they clearly had gluten-free bread available, I asked an employee if they could make their sandwiches with the GF bread. She informed me that they can! Woohooo! I have found a gluten-free sandwich place! AND… if you are a chocolate person (which I am not), you can also find a GF brownie here at Savoy. Looks like I have found my new favorite place in Santa Barbara!

2 Responses to “Savoy Cafe and Deli”

  1. CCH October 24, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Per your recommendation, my bf and I (he is a Celiac, I am not) went to Savoy with two friends and had delicious food. We split the gf French toast and poached salmon and loved both. The portions are generous and I loved the fresh fruit on top of the French toast. We got some gf bakery goodies to go and are enjoying them too. I wanted to write to let you know how much we appreciate your blog. Keep up the yummy eating and writing!

    • glutenfreeinsb October 24, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

      That place is gf heaven! Thanks for the feedback! I am so happy to hear that there are people that can use this blog as a resource!

Leave a Reply

