Via Maestra 42

7 Dec

Tonight we were up in the San Roque area so we decided to try Via Maestra 42. This is one of those places that you pass a million times. I am so happy that we finally stepped inside. It is a cozy, neighborhoodish restaurant. I started with the Insalata di Franco. It included organic greens, freh mozzarella, tomatoes, grilled zucchini and grilled eggplant. I really liked this salad. I then had GLUTEN-FREE PASTA. At this point, I will be surprised if a place I go to does NOT have GF pasta.  The waitress explained that it was a $5.00 charge for the GF pasta. I said that was fine, and ordered the pasta with shrimp, cherry tomatoes and arugula.

The sauce was very light. I asked for some red pepper flakes to put some kick in it. It was a good pasta dish if don’t want anything too heavy. So then comes the funny part. As we paid, the waitress brought a wrapped up box of gluten-free pasta from Italy. She explained that since I paid the $5.00 for the pasta, I might as well get what is left of it so that I can cook the rest at home. How nice is that? I definitely want to return and try their Bolognese… and their pesto… and their Pomodoro… and their gelato that is flown in from Italy.

Leave a Reply

